Processing refunds in pledge manager

As a creator, you can make a refund. To make a refund, you have to be a project owner or invite a collaborator with invoicing manager role. 

There are two possible refund situations: partial refund or pledge cancellation. 

Canceling a whole paid pledge

If you want to cancel the whole pledge, open the project you want to manage and click "Orders". You'll see a list of all pledges made in your project. You can use filters to find the order you need to cancel. Once you find it, open it by clicking its ID on the list. This will open the order details. In the top right corner, you'll see the "Cancel order" button. You'll see the following window:

Click  "Next" to see the summary of the refund.

Refunding a part of a pledge

To refund just a part of a pledge, find the order you need to make a refund for and delete the item that will be refunded in order details:

Here you can see the order ID, overcharged amount, the amount that will be refunded, order date, and type of payment. If you want to make an automatic refund using the payment provider used by the backer, tick "Refund this payment" and choose if you want to refund the full amount or a different amount. If you want to refund this payment manually using for example PayPal or bank transfer, tick "Handle this refund outside Gamefound" and enter any amount to give back to the backer.

In the case of orders imported from Kickstarter or other crowdfunding platforms, tick "Apply processing fee" to subtract the fee the platform charged for using their services. It means that the user will not receive a 100% refund, but the refund amount will be reduced by the cost of the transaction fee made on the crowdfunding platform.

NOTE: Crowdfunding platforms have different transaction fees. You can change the fee amount after you tick "Transaction fee". The amount is set by default to 9%, as this is the amount of the transaction fee charged by Kickstarter.

After you set up refund details, click "Next". You'll see a summary of the refund, including the transaction fee amount (if applied). Click "Confirm" to confirm the refund and order cancellation or "Back" if you want to change the refund details.

NOTE: If you're refunding the whole pledge and a discount was applied, you have to remove that discount from the pledge as well.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.